Spicy Salmon Sushi Burger

Spicy Salmon Sushi Burger with Avocado

Tonight is just a dinner for 1 since my boyfriend has a boy’s night out and I really need to finish my Master thesis. So this is always a perfect moment to make something that my boyfriend does not like which is goat cheese, broccoli or salmon. Yup, for those of you who cannot believe it, trust me I don’t either. The things he hates are the things I love the most! So for tonight I decided to go for a salmon burger and make rice buns. However, once I got the salmon it was such a beautiful fresh piece that I just couldn’t allow myself to cook it. Which led to the idea of keeping the fish raw and making a salmon poké. I used quite a lot of fish but this is because I just wanted the burger and nothing else as a side dish. Trust me with all that rice and fish it is a very filling dish.

This recipe makes 1 burger.

Ingredients:

200g salmon (sashimi quality), cut into small cubes

1 spring onion, very thinly sliced

1 tablespoon soy sauce

1 tablespoon mayonnaise

1 teaspoon wasabi (or more)

½ tablespoon sesame oil

½ tablespoon fresh lemon juice

½ teaspoon Shichimi Togarashi

For the sushi rice buns:

½ cup sushi rice

1 cup water

1 tablespoon rice vinegar

1 tablespoon black sesame seeds

Extra:

½ avocado, sliced

 

 

Mix the rice with the water and bring to a boil. Reduce the heat, cover the pot and cook for 10 minutes. Take the pot off the heat and keep covered for another 15 minutes. Do not remove the lid during these 15 minutes!

When the rice is ready add the rice vinegar and black sesame seeds and gently mix through.

In small bowl mix together the mayonnaise and wasabi and add the remaining ingredients along with the salmon. Keep aside until ready to use.

When the rice is cool enough to handle form it into two buns, you can do this with wet hands or using a mold. When using the second option brush the mold with some olive oil and use the back of a spoon to press the rice together. The rice needs to be very compact to make sure it doesn’t fall apart.

When ready to assembly, transfer a bun to your plate. Top with the avocado slices and salmon. Now finish off with the remaining bun. Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Spicy Salmon Sushi Burger

Leave a Reply

